Awards Season

So I don’t think it would surprise anyone that I absolutely love award season.  I try every year to see as many contenders as I can before it starts so I at least can have a valid opinion. Most years I never actually get around to seeing al the films I want to see due to the fact I am poor.  This year was no different, but I’m still working on seeing more before the season is over.  The following films are the ones I’ve seen and my subsequent opinions on the nominees. Enjoy!

Dallas Buyer’s Club

This movie was excellent when it comes to the performances.  Matthew McConaughey has really proved himself in the last few years that he is not just a pretty face.  He’s picked some amazing films and his new HBO show Ture Detective with Woody Harrelson looks like it’s going to be very gritty and real, which seems to be the roles he has been drawn to recently.  Jennifer Garner holds her own when she is on screen, but the real star of this film is easily Jared Leto.  Leto radiates as a transgender AIDS patient opposite McConaughey’s vulgar and sometimes too selfish business partner. He is up for Best Support Actor and I have no doubt he will win with flying colors.

Inside Llewyn Davis

Fans of the Coen Brothers know- they can rarely do wrong.  I’ve seen almost all of their films and have enjoyed each of them immensely.  Llewyn Davis has easily skyrocketed to the top of my list for it’s simplistic plot, stellar cast, heartwarming folk soundtrack and, of course, the cat.  Oscar Isaac shines as Llewyn, a man who lost his best friend and subsequently himself in the process.  The movie itself it set up like a folk song, starting and ending at the same point in Llewyn’s life.  Everything in between is a lesson in detail.  The Coens focus on little moments in his life as he travels from couch to couch all over New York as he tries to reboot his career in a time when folk music was on it’s way back in with the emergence of Bob Dylan, among others.  Heartfelt and, at times, quite depressing, it never ceased to make me laugh, largely due to the enigmatic Isaac.  He definitely has made a name for himself and deserves all the recognition coming his way.

Blue is the Warmest Color

I’ll admit I saw this movie mainly because of the lesbians (and honestly who didn’t?) but the fact it was in French only made it better.  Lea Sedoux and Adele Exarchopoulos are both very good actresses and no doubt beautiful.  I had very high hopes for this film, but it did fall a bit flat.  It was billed as a shocking new take on relationships and I can tell you there was nothing new about this relationship- aside from the fact it was a homosexual one, and honestly: that’s not new.  The sex scenes were contrived and over the top and nowhere near realistic.  So while I appreciate the film visually, I don’t think it did quite enough to capture the award for Best Foreign Language Film.

My Predictions:

As for Best Motion Picture, I’m really gunning for Inside Llewyn Davis but I have a feeling that latecomer American Hustle is going to take many of the awards this season due to it’s great reception from fans and critics alike.  Other contenders are Gravity, 12 Years a Slave, The Wolf of Wall Street, Her and possibly Nebraska.

Cate Blanchett has been dominating the conversation with her performance in Blue Jasmine so I’d say that is a good bet for Best Actress in a Drama, but Sandra Bullock in Gravity and Dame Judi Dench in Philomena are also a possibility.

Best Actor in a Drama is in my opinion going to go to Chiwetel Ejiofor for his performance in 12 Years a Slave. Though Matthew McConaughey is definitely a strong possibility.

As for the Best Actor and Actress in a Comedy or Musical I think American Hustle is definitely going to dominate.  Christian Bale and Amy Adams are most people’s favorites and although I haven’t seen the film yet, I’d have to agree with them.

Newcomer Lupita N’yongo is my guess for Best Supporting Actress for her groundbreaking performance in 12 Years and because JLaw won last year, they probably won’t give it to her two years in a row.  The aforementioned Jared Leto in Dallas Buyer’s Club is easily going to be the winner in that category.

Best Director is usually a tough one to guess because it could go any way.  However, Gravity is stunning in a way not previously seen on screen before and Alfonso Cuaron is who I’m betting on. American Hustle still has a chance and would be my second choice.

I’m split between movies in the Original Screenplay category. Her is a transcendent love story of the future and American Hustle has dominated the conversation in the best way possible. It could go either way.

Inside Llewyn Davis is full of amazing music, so it’s no surprise that Please Mr Kennedy gets my vote for Best Original Song. It’s fresh and funny and hey, you can’t go wrong with JT.

I’ve mostly focused on films this time because TV is so difficult for me to choose since I watch so much of it.  I will say though that the only person I will be praying for her win is Tatiana Maslany for her unbelievable performance on the BBC series Orphan Black where she played seven clones (and counting) with sheer brilliance.

Hold hands and get ready for the season to kick off tonight with the Golden Globes hosted by some of the most fantastic ladies, my girls Tine Fey and Amy Poehler!!

Leave a Reply

