Oscars 2016: Predictions / My Dream Wins / The Snubbed

Despite the fact that I am still disappointed with the selections this year, I cannot deny that I still enjoying predicting who will win. In fact, I was even tempted this year to participate in my friend’s Oscar pool, but I doubt I’ll get around to signing up before Sunday. Alas, even if I don’t win some cash, I decided to throw my predictions into the wind and see how it turns out. My predictions for the 2016 Oscars are as follows:

Best Picture: The Revenant / Spotlight / Mad Max: Fury Road

The Revenant or Spotlight could take home this prize, and it’s really a toss us for me. Despite not having seen the film, I’m leaning more towards Spotlight. I saw The Revenant and while it was a good film, I don’t think it was the best I’ve even seen this year. That award goes without a doubt to the film that wins in my dreams: Mad Max: Fury Road. I am already predicting it will sweep the technical categories, but as for best picture I would be thoroughly shocked if it actually won.

Best Director: Alejandro G. Inarritu / George Miller

In this case, I think The Academy will honor Inarritu 2 years in a row (he won for last year’s Birdman) which has not happened at the Oscars in 66 years! But of course, although I do respect Inarritu immensely, I was still gunning for George Miller’s incredible world building with Fury Road. Miller created a spectacular post-apocalyptic wasteland and proceeded to steal my heart.

Best Actor: LEOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO / Michael B. Jordan / Idris Elba

I think this is it guys. This is the year Leo FINALLY gets his statuette. And if I’m being honest, this is not the role I would’ve hoped he would win for. Ideally, I wanted it to be The Departed, but alas better late than never right? However, even the nominations for this category are not great. I would have preferred to see Michael B. Jordon on that list for Creed or even Idris Elba for Beasts of No Nation, but they were not even nominated. Such a shame #oscarssowhite.

Best Actress: Brie Larson

I have loved her from Day 1 when she played eccentric daughter to Toni Collette’s Tara on United States of Tara. I am so excited for her to get some recognition!

Best Supporting Actor: Sylvester Stallone / Tom Hardy / Benicio del Toro

So it looks like Stallone is definitely going to take this statue, and while I understand the choice, I still would have preferred Tom Hardy to sneak out a win for The Revenant. He was truly incredible in that film, even more so than Leo, and it’s a shame he’s likely not going to win. I also would’ve loved to see Benicio del Toro nominated for Sicario because he turned in a simmering and scary performance; despite being a similar character to ones he played before, it is easily one of his superior performances.

Best Supporting Actress: Alicia Vikander / Rooney Mara

I agree with the AV Club’s assessment that Rooney Mara should’ve been nominated in the lead actress and Cate Blanchett moved to supporting, but I’m not sure it would’ve made a difference on the winners. Alicia Vikander came on the scene with her affecting turn as a cyborg in Ex Machina, and then followed it with seven more films in 2015 alone. After The Danish Girl, it would not surprise me that she snags the prize.

Best Original Screenplay: Spotlight

Best Adapted Screenplay: The Big Short / Carol

Having just read the Price of Salt just last year, I would love for Carol to win this award. However, I think it will more likely go to The Big Short.

Best Animated Film: Inside Out

This film is brilliant and easily the most inventive and poignant film Pixar has made. It brought me to tears. If you haven’t seen it yet, stop everything and go do that now.

Best Animated Short: World of Tomorrow

Best Cinematography: The Revenant / Tangerine

Emmanuel Lubezki has been doing incredible work for years and after the awe-inspiring cinematography of The Revenant, I think it is finally his time to shine. However, the gimmick in Tangerine of shooting the entire film with iPhones is a staggering achievement and should have at the very least been acknowledged.

Best Film Editing: Max Mad: Fury Road

Fury Road ended up on so many critics best of 2015 lists, that it’s hard to accept it likely won’t win for Best Picture. However, the technical skills involved in creating this film are so impressive that in all its other nominated categories, I think this one is a cinch from nuts to bolts.

Best Foreign Language Film: Son of Saul

Best documentary Feature: Amy

I still have yet to watch this documentary, but my mother watched it and said it was amazing. The fact that my mother wants to watch it yet again says more about that movie than I ever could.

BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT SUBJECT: Body Team 12

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN: Fury Road

BEST COSTUME DESIGN: Cinderella

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE: The Hateful Eight / It Follows

I will be the first to admit that I was more excited for this film because of Ennio Morricone’s score than for Tarantino, but I do have my gripes. My only wish is that it was used more in the film. Morricone’s score for The Thing is one of my all-time favorites, and it’s used throughout the entire film. Tarantino had him create a theme and a couple variations, but they are not used enough in this film. But if you’re looking for incredibly innovative sound, the score to indie-horor darling It Follows truly made the film. If there was not such a genre bias against horror films, I would have no doubt this score would’ve been on the short list.

BEST ORIGINAL SONG: “Til it Happens to You”

BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT: Ave Maria

BEST MAKEUP & HAIRSTYLING: The Revenant

BEST SOUND EDITING: Fury Road

BEST SOUND MIXING: Fury Road

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS: Fury Road

Take my guesses and go forth and win your Oscar pools! To be completely honest, I might not even watch on Sunday.  But Chris Rock is hosting and the last time he did, I enjoyed it immensely so maybe I will tune in after all…

 

 

Leave a Reply

